Skip to navigation Skip to Log in Skipt to main content

Aboriginal Studies Students' Union (ABSSU)

The Indigenous Studies Students' Union is a course union within the Arts and Science Students' Union. The voting membership of the Aboriginal Studies Students' Union includes all University of Toronto students either enrolled in the Aboriginal Studies Program and/or all University of Toronto students taking at least one Aboriginal Studies course. The non-voting membership of ABSSU is open to any University of Toronto student, staff, faculty, and alumni who does not satisfy the requirements of the voting membership. ABSSU operates through a non-hierarchic structure of five committees which collectively and democratically vote (through consensus) in all decision-making processes. ABSSU aims to provide events and programs which are open to all and which allow students from diverse backgrounds to come together in a horizontal, inclusive space for the common purpose of engaging with Indigenous knowledges and activities. All members are encouraged to engage with ABSSU by joining one of ABSSU's five committees (Social Functions, Communications, Finance, Membership Intake, and Membership Support). Committee roles are fluid and voluntary, and any member may put forward their ideas to expand or add to ABSSU functions. Ultimately, ABSSU strives to create a platform from which all members can pursue their passions.

Contact Information

Primary Contact
Grace Webster
Secondary Contact
Joshua Bowman
Official Group Website
Mailing Address

M5S 2W8

Group Profile

Organization Type
Recognized Student Group
Campus Association
St. George
Areas of Interest
Culture And Identities
Student Governments Unions and Councils
Renewal Date
September 30, 2030

Group Leaders

Grace Webster
Communications Coordinator
Joshua Bowman
Finance Coordinator